Advisory Board

Meet the members!

Members were selected based upon their past contributions to Riding into History, as well as their ability to advise the committee on future actions. Our goal is to continue to improve the event each year, and the Advisory Board gives us a wealth of talent, knowledge and experience to draw upon. Advisory Board members are elected to a two-year term.

Dave Despain*

The most well-known television personality in the motorcycle world, Dave has been a fixture on ABC, Speed, ESPN and MAVTV. An avid rider, instructor and a Hall of Fame member.

Peter Egan*

Peter is one of America’s best respected motorsports writers. He is well known for his magazine columns and articles, plus his numerous books. If he is not writing or restoring, he’s off on a ride with Barb.

Dennis Gage*

Producer and host of national car and motorcycle television programs, including Corbin’s Ride On, My Classic Car and Trippin on Two Wheels. Dennis is a two-time RIH Grand Marshal.

Buzz Kanter*

Owner and Publisher of American Iron Magazine and Road Bike. A long time vintage motorcycle enthusiast, collector and rider, Buzz is an AMA Hall of Famer.

Mert Lawwill*

Mert is a former Grand National Champion motorcycle racer, an AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame member and starred with Steve McQueen and Malcolm Smith in the movie “On Any Sunday”.

William Robinson

Chairman of the Riding Into History event several times, as well as founding Chairman of RIH, Inc. and former Chairman of the Advisory Committee, he named “Riding Into History” and has participated in every event.

Clement Salvadore*

A million mile rider and one of America’s most prolific writers on motorcycling. Clem also has a Harvard degree, two masters degrees and the Green Berets on his lengthy resume.

Brian Slark

Brian was inducted to the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in 2012 – a life long motorcycle enthusiast born in London England, he has spent 60+ years in the motorcycle business in both England and the States. His life long history as motocross racing organizer, specialty importer, technical/mechanical expert and museum curator is unsurpassed. He is probably best known today as the technical director for Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum which houses one of the world’s largest and finest collections of motorcycles. See Brian’s full story here.

Bill Peterson**

Former RIH Chairman for two years and volunteer in various capacities since 2002. He is a lifelong motorcyclist, who has travelled through 40+ countries across 6 continents. Self employed as a technology consultant specializing in Cloud Computing application development.

Billy Aldrich

There would be no Riding Into History without Billy. He founded the Atlantic Beach Vintage Motorcycle Club, and originated RIH. An avid restorer, he has many award winning Hondas.

Craig Vetter*

Designer, entrepreneur, speaker, author and member of the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame. Craig and his wife Carol have been key to the success of RIH. Craig is a two-time RIH Grand Marshal.

Jack Wells

Retired airline pilot Jack Wells is one of America’s most respected and honored vintage motorcycle collectors, Motorcycle Cannonball participants and a consistent supporter of RIH and the AMCA.

Mark Tuttle

Mark Tuttle is the Editor of Rider magazine and a lifelong motorcycle enthusiast who originally wanted to be a photographer, then a motorcycle mechanic and finally a motojournalist. His 32-year stint at Rider has meant that he never had to make up his mind.

Derek (Nobby) Clark

In memory of our late friend Nobby, we will always remember him as an Advisory Board member and major contributor to Riding Into History in so many different ways. Nobby was quite likely the world’s premier motorcycle mechanic, and was instrumental in 17 world championships of legendary riders including Mike Hailwood and Kenny Roberts. AMA Hall of Fame member.
(passed away 12/16/2017)


* Past Grand Marshal
** Advisory Board President